What am I reading in 2016?

Every year should end in quiet contemplation over paths which we took, missed and avoided during the year. One should use the result of this brainstorming to gain a foothold into a more productive year, which lies ahead.

This holds true even when it comes to the wonderful practice of reading. Over the past few years, in order to bring some discipline into my habit of reading, I have tried to follow quite a few reading plans such as, the Goodreads reading challenge, the #100BookPact and a few others. Although, I have enjoyed them, to an extent these plans have acted as a limitation. In all these plans, one fixes the number of books one would like to read and in the process ends up reading books that need not be read, just to meet the target. This year, I have decided to draw up a list before I commence my journey.

I have decided to stick to literary fiction and non-fiction for the first quarter of this year, notable exceptions being mystery/thrillers and poetry. (Will update the list for the next quarter, some time in March). I intend to read these books in the first quarter of 2016:

  • Crime and Punishment: The first out of the three books by Fyodor Dostoyevsky, that I intend to read this year.
  • Looking Away: Inequality, Prejudice and Indifference in New India: Finally, ready to take up Harsh Mander‘s indictment of the ordinary Indian.
  • Raag Durbari: A timeless work of fiction set in India,in Hindi, by Shrilal Shukla.
  • Guns, Germs and Steel: The Fate of Human Societies: A brief history of the human civilization by Jared Diamond.
  • The Fall: A step towards reading everything that Albert Camus wrote.

If you haven’t drawn up your list, go ahead and do it! Do share it with me. Let’s skip bogus reading challenges and read some great books in 2016.

4 thoughts on “What am I reading in 2016?

  1. Have heard some great reviews about Raag Darbari. I am going to put it on my checklist! Also, thanks for reminding to chalk out a reading-list. A must-do this year! Best wishes. Hope you cover these amazing titles!

Leave a Reply

